The process of diagnosis with Obie started when he was 18 months old.

His pediatrician went through a series of questions and determined that we should see a developmental Dr.

We saw the developmental Dr. and started evaluation with the state for services.

We saw the developmental Dr. again, and she started going a different direction, services continued, new “quirks” emerged.

We decided to seek a secondary opinion with Behavioral Health at PCH.  They recommended us for genetics.  Genetics is scheduling out into 2017; insurance, finances, and transitions are all looming.

We are awaiting an appointment with a new developmental Dr.

BUT GOD

I don’t know if genetics will give any answers, or if it might just lead us into more questions and confusion, but what did it matter – 2017 wasn’t going to help us anyway.

BUT GOD

On a whim, I started calling geneticists in Phoenix.  By the way, that list is incredibly small, insurance would be a complication, but I had to try.

BUT GOD

I called three offices, but avoided PCH because 2017 seems a lifetime away when insurance changes on 10/1.

BUT GOD

I called PCH genetics, I gave my information, our referral was in the system, and so was all of our contact information.

AND GOD

Patty @ PCH Genetics:

“It’s a miracle.  This never happens.  There are two cancellations in the system for August 18.”

You guys.  I blubbered.  I cried.  I praised God.  On the phone.  To my new best friend, Patty.

A dear friend texted me and told me she was praying for me to be “shocked and blown away by how quickly it happened.”

SHOCKED.  BLOWN AWAY.  Constantly wondering what we do to merit the favor we are shown, and then reminded that we do NOTHING.  We are broken, and sinful, and he loves us anyway.

4 But[a] God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us,5 even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved— and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus”

Ephesians 2:4-8English Standard Version (ESV)

*Emphasis mine

