As Obie grows and learns I see snapshots of how the hard work is paying off.  How the tricks and tips from therapists are shining through in every day activities.

Then I marvel at how much I have taken for granted.  For the last six months he has worked an hour a week in therapy with Ms. Lisa.  They started on pencil grip with a tripod grasp, a work that was started by Ms. Susan in the Fall of 2015.  With reminders he will use it, but, ultimately, habits die hard, and he will still fist grasp a crayon or pencil until he is reminded to hold it properly.

After she was sure he had the tripod grasp, they began the work of tracing lines, making x’s, and, more recently, completing circles.  I have three other children, and while it is still early for Bear, I can declare the other two to be neurotypical.  I have had to teach Booger how to hold a pencil, but that’s where it stopped. He observed, practiced, and created.  Beasty has had a tripod grasp with her little lefty hand since she started holding a crayon.  No one taught her, she just did it.  Similarly, we have never had to teach them that pointing to an object means that we are pointing to the object.  They look where we point.  Obie? He looks at our hand.  He looks everywhere BUT the object.  This is what I mean about taking things for granted.  

So I know that parents post pictures all the time of the artwork their kids made at school, in Sunday school, or at home.  They’re treasures that we are proud of, make us giggle, and we want to hang on our virtual refrigerators for the world to like or ❤.

So….I give you, Obie’s first and second piece of artwork.  

It was a work that was started nearly five years ago, and they are masterpieces, just like him.

